YSRCP MPs To Meet Lok Sabha Speaker on June 6

New Delhi: The five YSR Congress Party MPs - PV Midhun Reddy, Vara Prasada Rao, Mekapati Rajamohan Reddy, and YS Avinash Reddy - who have resigned in protest against central government's denial of Special Category Status (SCS) to Andhra Pradesh will be meeting Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan on June 6 and convince her to accept their resignations. The MPs had met the Speaker on May 29 and requested her to accept the resignations.

The YSRCP MPs submitted numerous notices for no-confidence motion in the Lok Sabha during the budget session and finally at the end of the session, they resigned and went on an indefinite hunger strike at AP Bhavan. With their health deteriorating the MPs were forcibly shifted to a hospital in the national capital by the police.

The YSRCP MPs have been saying that SCS for AP was their top priority and not positions. They had cleared their stand in this regard to the Speaker during their last meeting. It is learnt that Sumitra Mahajan had asked the MPs to reconsider their resignations. During their meeting on June 5, the YSRCP MPs would insist on acceptance of their resignations.
Back to Top