YSRCP Leaders To Meet ECI Officials

A delegation of senior YSR Congress Party leaders is scheduled to meet Central Election Commission officials at 6.30pm on Monday. The delegation is led by former MP Mekapati Rajamohan Reddy, PAC chairman Buggana Rajendranath Reddy, Rajya Sabha member Vemireddy Prabhakar Reddy among others.

The YSRCP team is meeting the Election Commission officials a day after the schedule was announced by the Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora. In his announcement on Sunday, the CEC stated that Andhra Pradesh would go to polls on April 11 along with Telangana in the first phase. voting for all the 175 Assembly constituencies and 25 Lok Sabha seats in Andhra Pradesh and 17 Lok Sabha seats in Telangana would be completed on April 11. Counting is scheduled to take place on May 23 as per the CEC's statement.

The meeting of the YSRCP team with the Election Commission officials assumes special significance because of the fact that the last date for online/offline submission of addition of votes is March 15, leaving only five days for citizens of Andhra Pradesh.

The last date of submission of nominations is March 25 and it is in this narrow window that the EC has to updated Electoral  rolls which is being seen as a challenge in the light of serious charges of mass deletion of votes by the ruling TDP in the state.

Back to Top