Tammineni Sitaram Unanimously Elected As Speaker of AP Assembly

Amaravati: Tammineni Sitharam (64) was unanimously elected as the Speaker of the Andhra Pradesh Assembly on Thursday.

Protem Speaker S Appala Naidu conducted the election procedure. Thirty MLAs of YSR Congress Party proposed Tammineni's name after which he was formally announced as the new speaker. After his election, Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy formally invited him to the Speaker's Chair and the protem speaker handed over the charge to him as the new Speaker of the AP Assembly.

Tammineni Sitharam a BC leader will be the third Speaker from the Srikakulam district to be elected as speaker. Earlier Thangi Satyanarayana and K Pratibha Bharathi were elected as the speakers of the erstwhile Andhra Pradesh Assembly.

A law graduate by qualification, Tammineni started was a director of a sugar factory in his hometown , before taking the plunge into politics. Sitaram is a six-time legislator from Amudalavalasa constituency in Srikakulam district. He was first elected as MLA in 1983 when the TDP was founded. After winning his second stint in 1985, Sitaram lost the 1989 election. He, however, won two back-to-back elections in 1994 and 1999.

Back to Top