YSRCP Wins Jaggayyapeta Municipal Chair

Jaggayyapeta: YSR Congress Party's Inturi Rajagopal was on Saturday sworn in as the chairman of Jaggayyapeta Municipal Corporation. TDP made desperate efforts to trample democracy for the second consecutive day.

YSRCP won 16 out of 27 wards with a clear majority to get the chairmanship. With only 10 seats, TDP tried to grab the chair by hook or by crook and created ruckus on Friday to disrupt the chairman election. The returning officer postponed the election though there was full quorum. The TDP leaders then played all the tricks up their sleeves throughout the day to lure YSRCP councillors into their party. 
They offered money and when the councillors did not yield to the temptations, they also threatened them with dire consequences if they didn't defect into TDP.

All the YSRCP councillors rejected their offers and the election was rescheduled for Saturday. When councillors gathered to elect the chairman on Saturday, the TDP councillors and also their party men tried to create ruckus again to buy some more time for horse trading. But the election returning officer declared that in the absence of any opposition, YSRCP's Inturi Rajagopal elected unanimously as the chairman.
Back to Top