YSRCP stands first, wins 855 Panchayats

Hyderabad, July 18,
2013: Proving its popularity among the masses yet again, YSR Congress Party retained
855 of the unanimously elected 2600 Sarpanch posts when the deadline for
withdrawal of nominations ended Wednesday evening in Panchayat elections.

In contrast, Congress
won 715 Sarpanch posts, TDP 421 and TRS 92 attaining second, third and fourth
positions respectively lagging behind YSRCP.  Others with no party affiliations bagged 517
Sarpanch posts.

Despite the conspiracy by
Congress and TDP to have informal alliances to push YSRCP to the backspace in
the Panchayat elections, the party supporters won majority Panchayats with
people’s support.

Except for Vizianagaram
district, the Congress failed to come even nearer to YSRCP in any other
district in coastal and Rayala Seema areas. Even in the Chittor district to
which CM belongs, YSRCP won a majority of 150 Sarpanch posts unanimously while
Congress won 33 and TDP 66 Sarpanch posts. In YSR district, both Congress and
TDP together won 43 Panchayats as against YSRCP winning 101 Panchayats.

The following is the
chart showing positions of various parties winning the Sarpanch posts
unanimously in the Panchayat elections.

Back to Top