YSRCP Holds Agitations Throughout The State

APThe bandh called for by YSRCP in protest against the deception of TDP and BJP to the people of AP in the matter of sanctioning special status to the state is going on throughout the state. All political parties accept TDP and BJP as well as certain organisations extended solidarity to the bandh. Dharnas, rasta rokos and protest rallies are going on in the state. The police interrupted the otherwise peacefully happening bandh by brutally attacking the leaders and activists. The leaders were pulled away and arrested. YSRCP has strongly condemned the behaviour of the government. Here are the details of the bandh held in various districts of AP.

Guntur district:

The police arrested Mangalagiri MLA Alla Ramakrishna Reddy and 9 other party leaders and moved them to the police station as they were observing the bandh near RTC bus stand of Mangalagiri. Local youth held a bike rally in the city asking people for solidarity to the bandh. Ambati Rambabu, the official spokesman of YSR Congress party, was arrested at Sattenapalli along with 20 activists as they were holding protest. MLA Mustafa, Lella Appireddy and Meruga Nagarjuna started agitation at the bus stand of Guntur and were arrested by the police. Party convener of Repalle, Gaddam Radha Krishna Murthy, SC cell's state general secretary Prasanth Kumar, minority leader Sheikh Subhani and 24 others were arrested by the police as they were observing bandh at Repalle.

YSR district:

MLA Amzad Basha, mayor Suresh Babu, Kadpa city’s party president Nityananda Reddy and certain other leaders held Raastha Roko at the RTC bus depot of Kadapa. Both the gates of the depot were shut and buses were stopped. MP Avinash Reddy held an agitation at the bus stand of Pulivendula. Buses were hindered by the party cadre. Devireddy Sankar Reddy participated in the dharna. MLA Korumutla Srinivasulu led an agitation at Kukkaldoddi of Railway Koduru mandal. Vehicles stopped on Chennai-Hyderabad highway, leading to a huge traffic jam. MLC Govind Reddy conducted bandh at Badvel. People’s organisations held a dharna at the local bus stand. MLA Gadikota Srikanth Reddy participated in the bandh at Rayachoti. A dharna was held in front of the local RTC bus depot. Bandh went on peacefully at Jammalamadugu. Educational and commercial institutions voluntarily participated in the bandh. 

Chittoor District:

Chittoor district’s party president Narayana Swamy, S.K.Babu, Sudarshan Reddy, Imam and Hari Prasad were arrested by the police as they were observing bandh for special status. Adimulam, the in-charge of Satyaveedu constituency, held a raastha roko on the highway at Narayanavanam. Bandh was voluntarily conducted at Palamaneru constituency. Chandragiri MLA Chevireddy Bhaskar Reddy held a dharna and was arrested by the police. Bangarupalem MLA Sunil held a dharna. Two hundred people were arrested along with the MLA. At Srikalahasti, YSRCP leader Madhumohan held the bandh.

Ananthapuram District:

Certain leaders along with former MLA Gurnatha Reddy staging agitation at Ananthapuram were arrested and taken to the police station. Siddhareddy led the bandh at Kadiri. At Dharmavaram and Gunthakal, YSRCP coordinator Venkatrami Reddy led dharna. Throughout Ananthapuram, 150 people were arrested for observing the bandh. Thousand buses remained in the depots. Puttaparthi constituency’s coordinator Sridhar Reddy supervised the bandh in his constituency. 

Prakasam District:

YSRCP leaderd hindered buses from coming out of RTC depot at Giddaluru. Almost 12 leaders were arrested and taken to the police station. 

Krishna District:

YSRCP leaders hindered buses at the RTC bus stand of Vijayawada. Krishna district’s party president and former minister Parthasarathy, Vijayawada’s president Vangaveeti Radha, P.Goutham Reddy and Nagireddy gave away roses to RTC passengers, the police and RTC personnel and asked for solidarity to the bandh. There was good response from the RTC passengers for this novel style of protest. Parthasarathy and certain other leaders were arrested. MLA Meka Apparao conducted a dharna at the RTC bus depot in Nuzivid, stopping buses from coming out. Congress, CPI and CPM extended solidarity to the bandh.

West Godavari District:

YSRCP’s state secretary Taneti Vanitha and hundreds of activists conducting agitation at Kovvur’s bus depot were arrested by the police.

East Godavari District:

MLA Jaggireddy staged dharna at Ravulapalem bus depot along with other leaders. Agitation was held and buses were hindered from coming out. YSRCP leaders held agitation in Rampachodavaram led by MLA Vanthala Rajeswari and Udaya Bhaskar. Pithani Balakrishna and Gutthula Sai led the bandh in Mummidivaram. MLC Pilli Subhash Chandra Bose led tha bandh in Ramachandrapuram.


Visakhapatnam District:

Gudiwada Amarnath was arrested by the police as he held agitation at the RTC depot in Maddilapalem. YSRCP leaders held a bike rally at Thatichetlapalem collecting solidarity for the bandh. At Chodavaram, Dharmasree led the bandh. At Anakapalli, Janaki Ramaraju held agitation. Paderu MLA Giddi Eshwari led the YSRCP cadre in the bandh. Almost 850 buses were stopped from serving.

Vizianagaram District:

Party in-charge and MLA Veerabhadra Swamy held agitation at the RTC complex in Vizianagaram. He was taken into custody by the police. At Kurupam, MLA Pushpa Srivani led the agitation demanding special status.

Srikakulam District:

YSRCP leaders held raastha roko in Pathapatnam. Then party leader Tammineni Sitaram, along with certain other leaders, was arrested by the police. A dharna was led by Palakonda MLA Viswasarai kalavathi. The MLA along with certain activists was arrested. In Icchapuram, former MLA Sai Raj led bandh supported by business institutions. YSRCP leaders and activists throughout the district were arrested in thousands and 1050 buses were stopped.

Nellore District:

MLA Kotamreddy Sridhar Reddy in Nellore Rural constituency and MLA Sanjeevaiah in Sullurupeta, staged dharnas. District party president Kakani Govardhan Reddy led YSRCP leaders in the dharns staged at RTC bus stand. Seven hundred buses were stopped. Meruga Muralidhar and Gopal Reddy held dharna peacefully at Guduru.

Kurnool District:

Adoni MLA Sai ratap Reddy led the bandh supported by voluntary participation of certain business and commercial groups. At Nandikotkuru, MLA Aijayya led the agitation. YSRCP leader Cherukupati Narayana Reddy staged a dharna at Pratthikonda.


Back to Top