YSRCP Campaign Gathering Pace In Visakhapatnam South

Visakhapatnam: There is a widely held sentiment in Visakhapatnam South constituency, that the party which wins the poll in this constituency forms the government in the state. This sentiment was prevalent before the reorganization of constituencies took place and manages to continue after that.  Since the constitution has been carved out no candidate, who has won the seat, has been in the opposition.

Telugu Desam Party after in its inception in 1983 won the seat. Back then, Grandhi Madhavi from the TDP was elected from the seat and formed the state government. In 1985 mid-term polls Allu Bhanumathi won as the TDP candidate and this time too, TDP rose to power.

In the general election held in 1989 Congress candidate ET Vijaya Lakshmi won the constituency and in this election, Congress secured the magical number to establish the government.

In 1994 elections SA Rahaman won on the ticket of TDP and the TDP found itself in a majority. In 1999 TDP forged an alliance with Bharatiya Janata Party, and as part of the alliance Kambhampati Hari Babu contested from the constituency from BJP. This time TDP secured a victory at the ballot.

In 2004 elections Dronamraju Satyanarayana won the seat on the Congress party ticket and this election Congress party came to power. In December 2005 Dronamraju passed away because of ill health and in the by-election held in 2006, Dronamraju Srinivasa Rao was elected.

In 2009 after the reorganisation of the constituencies Visakhapatnam-1 became Visakhapatnam South. In this election, Dronamraju Srinivasa Rao was re-elected and Congress at the state retained power. With the second consecutive win, Sreenivas has set the record of winning the constituency twice.

In the elections after state bifurcation in 2014 TDP came to power and Vasupalli Ganesh Kumar won this constituency on the ticket of TDP. With this the sentiment that whichever party wins in the state will hold power in the constituency is still continuing. As things are shaping, 2019 appears to mark a departure with electoral winds blowing the YSRCP way across the state. In other words, no matter who wins Visakhapatnam South, YS Jagan Mohan Reddy is all set to become the next chief minister of AP, by all indicators. 

Back to Top