Electionresult - Mar21, 2012

Describing the Kovur victory as pointer to the next bout of by-election, YSR Congress said the conspiracy of Congress and TDP to retain a two-party system in the State has backfired as the two parties vied for minor placings in all the seven constituencies, for which results were announced on Wednesday.
“People have boycotted the ruling and opposition parties and gave a decisive mandate against Congress and TDP. The two parties would have faced further humiliation had the resignations of 17 rebels were accepted earlier and elections were held to 24 seats,” YSRC leaders told reporters here. 
“The results will be the same in the ensuing 18 assembly and one parliament seats and YSR Congress will emerge as the force to reckon with. In the final 2014 battle, we will form the government in the State and will also play a key role in national politics,” party official spokesperson, BajireddyGovardhan along with former MLAs Srikanth Reddy, Aamarnadh Reddy and Gurnath Reddy and other leaders said.
A negative wave against Congress and TDP is visible in the by-poll and their money power and muscle power along with misuse of official machinery yielded no results. People have watched how the ruling and opposition parties have ganged up on various issues, inside and outside the Assembly, ignoring farmers’ welfare, input subsidy, drinking water, drought relief and other pressing issues, they said. 
The result is a slap in the face of Congress as Anam brothers and others went about saying that they won on a Congress ticket and with Sonia Gandhi charisma and not that of YSR, but the party was relegated to minor placings. 
“Today, it was YSR and his welfare policies that has given our candidate a good majority though TDP President N Chandrababu Naidu toured the constituency thrice and Congress ministers camped at Kovur and the two parties resorted to unfair means,” they said.  
When asked why the majority of was not up to the expectations, they said, “Compared to previous elections, the majority is very good. Last time N Prasanna Kumar Reddy won by a majority of over 7,000 votes on a TDP ticket while this time the difference is over 24,000 which is a positive sign to the popularity of YSR Congress. While the margin was thin in a straight contest, it swelled three-fold in a triangular contest.”
In all the seven constituencies Congress and TDP were relegated to second, third and even fourth place and the trend is going to continue, they said, at least now the two parties should stop leveling baseless allegations against YS Jagan Mohan Reddy.

Back to Top