YSRCP MLAs seek polls to ZPP, MPP Chairmen, Mayors

June 25, 2014: YSR Congress party has urged the Governor ESL Narasimhan to
direct the state election commission to hold elections immediately to the post
of ZP Chairmen, Municipal chairmen, Mandal Parishad Chairmen and Mayors.  

Congress party MLAs Uppuleti Kalpana, P.Ravindranath Reddy, G.Srikanth
Reddy,  Janke Venkat Reddy,  A.Suresh,  Alla Rama Krishna Reddy, C.Adinarayana Reddy, N.Amarnath
Reddy, Amzad Basha, R.Prasad Reddy,  K.Srinivasulu, B.Rajasekhar Reddy, Y.Sai
Prasad Reddy , Kambala Jogulu and S.Raghurami Reddy met the Governor and submitted
a memorandum seeking directions to the state election commission in this

AP State Election Commission is yet to complete elections of Municipal
Chairmen, Mayors,
ZP Chairmen and Presidents of MPPs despite the Electoral College being in place for
over a month, they said in their memorandum.  

the uncertainty of timing of these elections, the ruling party in
the residuary state is trying to encourage the unhealthy practice of
defections, which is against
the spirit of free and fair elections, the MLAs complained.  “The
elections to Municipal Ward Members, MPTC and ZPTC were held in the
united Andhra Pradesh under the superintendence of the AP State Election
Commission and it is in everybody’s knowledge from 4th March 2014 that the
Appointed Day for the new state is
2nd June 2014. We respectfully submit that steps should have been taken in the
first week of
March 2014 itself as to whether the AP State Election Commission should
complete the process
in both the states or not,” they said adding that the TDP is taking advantage
of the delay in the aforesaid elections to encourage defections.

"We request you to direct the state election commission to hold the said elections immediately in the best interests of democracy.



Back to Top