No Trust Motion on Monday

 Hyderabad: The Andhra Pradesh Legislative Assembly will on March 14
take up a no-confidence motion moved against the 21-month-old Telugu Desam
Party-led Government by Opposition YSR Congress  Party (YSRCP).

Admitting the motion, notice for which was given by the lone
Opposition party, Speaker Kodela Sivaprasada Rao announced in the House that it
would be taken up for discussion on Monday. On paper, the Jaganmohan Reddy-led
outfit's strength still remains 67 in the 175-member House but eight of its
MLAs switched sides to the TDP in recent days. The TDP has 102 members of its
own while an Independent member and another belonging to Navodayam Party have
become its associates. The Bharatiya Janata Party, TDP's coalition partner, has
four MLAs. 

The YSRCP issued a notice on Thursday to Andhra Pradesh Legislature Secretary
(in charge) Satyanarayana Rao to move a motion of no-confidence against the
Chandrababu Naidu Government, alleging that it failed to fulfill the promises
it made ahead of the elections in 2014. People lost confidence in the TDP
government as it failed on all fronts. It is also steeped in corruption, the
YSRC alleged.

Back to Top